A lifetime Christmas Wish

There is no doubt in my mind that a couple in love wanted to share the Christmas Joy and their daughter with the world.

Many years ago I was a fire and safety inspector in Volusia county Florida. I was to do inspections at a Regions bank and when I arrived at the bank I was met by a loan officer. A very personable and friendly lady who introduced herself as Mary. I thought nothing peculiar about this until I had finished the inspection and gone to her office to obtain signatures of completion of the inspection.

On her desk were business cards of herself, and other loan officers and bank managers and associates. This is when I was surprised [pleasantly] and got a good chuckle. It turns out her name, Mary, was not a traditional spelling. In fact it was Merry.  accompanied by her middle and last name.

This is when it struck me how proud her parents must have been when their little girl arrived in this world (and I dare say, not knowing when her birthday was, I would guess in December some time) and wanted their joy to be forever remembered and shared with the world. They named their little bundle of joy, Merry Chris Smith.

This is not a joke, as Merry is now a member of the Volusia County Government and you can see her name on their website at http://www.volusia.org/mtgdates.htm down near the middle of the page listed as follows:

Wednesday, Dec. 16
VOLUSIA GROWTH MANAGEMENT COMMISSION
Contact: Merry Chris Smith, VGMC office, 947-1875, vgmc@co.volusia.fl.us
Meets 4th Wednesday at 7 p.m. (Except December)

I wish you all a Merry Christmas and the joys of the season to all.

One response to “A lifetime Christmas Wish

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention A lifetime Christmas Wish « The Dragon Tail -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

